Ranked, sourced, dated

The best email MCP
servers in 2026

Every way to give Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor a real mailbox, ranked: five hosted services, an agent tool platform, the servers mail providers run themselves, two you run yourself, and the built-in connectors.

Updated

Third-party figures read on 20 October 2026 or later Every claim links to its source Each entry lists its weaknesses

The short version

Best overall
MCPEmails, several mailboxes behind one MCP URL, scoped OAuth, and a hold on our server before anything sends.
Best with a calendar
Mailbox MCP, mail, calendar and an address book, listed in the ChatGPT app directory.
Cheapest for 3 to 5 mailboxes
anymailmcp, EUR 4.99 a month for five IMAP mailboxes, hosted in the EU, with CalDAV and CardDAV.
Best for one mailbox, long term
MailMCP, EUR 1.99 a month per mailbox on a 24-month term, hosted in France.
Best as a full email app
Mailopoly, a unified inbox app whose MCP server comes with every plan.
Best for multi-tool agents
Composio, email is one of 1,500+ toolkits behind a single gateway.
Best on Fastmail or Zoho alone
Your provider's own MCP server, free to use, run by the company that holds your mail.
Best to self-host
Wh1isper/mcp-email-server, local, multi-account, per-account permissions, no hosted party.

The 10 best email MCP servers, ranked

Every entry lists what it is bad at, including the first one.

How we ranked them

Five criteria, weighted in this order: mailboxes and providers reached, what it does with your credentials and your mail, what it costs as mailboxes are added, whether you can move off it, and setup effort. We build the first entry and the weighting is ours, so disagree with it if you like. Every third-party figure was read at its source on 20 October 2026 or later, and each source at the foot of the page shows the day it was read. Where a public page did not answer, we say so rather than guess.

Number 1: MCPEmails

Editor's pick

Puts several mailboxes from different providers behind a single MCP URL, authorises the connection with scoped OAuth rather than a mailbox credential, and can hold outbound mail on our server until a person approves it.

Price. Free: 1 inbox, 150 email actions a month, first 3 days uncounted. Personal is $9 a month for 3 inboxes ($86.40 a year), Pro is $15 a month for up to 10 ($144 a year), and Business is $39 a month with 10 included and $3 a month for each extra. Paid plans bill monthly or yearly.

  • Outlook and Microsoft 365 over Microsoft Graph with Sign in with Microsoft; Gmail with a Google app password; Fastmail, iCloud, Yahoo, Zoho, Yandex and any IMAP mailbox with an app password. Several at once, one URL.
  • OAuth 2.1 with dynamic client registration, S256 PKCE and 9 permission scopes: a connection without the send scope cannot be talked into sending, by you or by a hostile email.
  • An approval hold per inbox, enforced on our server rather than left to the AI app, on every plan including Free. No message content stored.
  • The same code is open source under AGPL-3.0, with a Docker Compose stack to run it yourself.
  • No calendar, and no stored address book: contacts are scanned live out of recent mail. Mailbox MCP, anymailmcp and MailMCP all do calendars or contacts.
  • Not yet in the ChatGPT app directory. Our app is in review, so for now you add us as a custom connector. Mailbox MCP and Mailopoly are already listed.
  • For three to five mailboxes, anymailmcp is cheaper, and for one mailbox on a long term, MailMCP is.
  • One region: data stored in Stockholm, mail processed live in US East. No security certification of our own.

Best for. Anyone with more than one mailbox, or who wants to bound what an agent may do with it.

Number 2: Mailbox MCP

A hosted email MCP server run from London by BSolve IT Limited, with calendar and address book tools next to the mail. It is in the ChatGPT app directory, and its pricing page says Anthropic lists it too.

Price. Free: 5 MCP calls per mailbox in any rolling 24 hours. Pro is GBP 34.99 + VAT a year per mailbox (GBP 2.92 a month), up to 1,000 calls a day; there is no monthly option. Team Access is extra, from GBP 119.99 + VAT a year.

  • Microsoft 365 and Outlook.com over a Microsoft sign-in, Gmail with an app password, iCloud and any IMAP host.
  • Calendar (Microsoft 365, Google Calendar or CalDAV) and address book tools, which we do not have.
  • Three permission levels per connection: Read only, Draft and file, or Send and delete. Messages are not copied into their database.
  • Listed in the ChatGPT app directory (since 1 October 2026, per its pricing page), and Cyber Essentials certified.
  • Sends are confirmed by your AI app, not held on their server: their security page calls the destructive marking "a hint, not a rule", and an "always allow" setting removes it.
  • Annual billing only, per mailbox, so three mailboxes are GBP 104.97 + VAT a year.
  • A self-host path is not stated.

Best for. One or two mailboxes where calendar and contacts matter, and people who want to install from the ChatGPT directory.

Number 3: anymailmcp

A hosted email MCP server for any IMAP mailbox, sometimes written Anymail MCP, with CalDAV calendars and CardDAV contacts, hosted in the EU. The lowest price here for a handful of mailboxes.

Price. Free: 1 mailbox, 15 calls a day, 45 a week, 150 a month. Solo is EUR 4.99 a month excl. VAT for up to 5 mailboxes with no call caps. Team is EUR 29.99 a month excl. VAT for everyone on your company domain.

  • Up to five mailboxes for less than one of ours costs on Personal.
  • CalDAV calendars, tasks and CardDAV contacts alongside mail.
  • Read-only, read and organize, or full access, chosen per mailbox and enforced on their servers. Message contents are not stored.
  • Servers and data in the European Union.
  • Outlook.com and Microsoft 365 are not on its providers page, and no Microsoft sign-in is described.
  • An approval hold before sending is not stated.
  • We did not find it in the ChatGPT app directory.

Best for. Several IMAP mailboxes outside Microsoft, on the smallest monthly bill.

Number 4: MailMCP

A hosted MCP email server run from Paris, hosted in France, with CalDAV on Pro and a CardDAV address book. Priced per mailbox, with commitment and volume tiers.

Price. Free: 1 mailbox, 5 MCP calls a day. Pro starts at EUR 7.99 per mailbox a month, EUR 2.99 a month on a 12-month term, or EUR 1.99 a month on a 24-month term (500 AI actions a day). Higher tiers go to 6,000 actions a day, with 15% off from the 5th mailbox and 20% from the 10th.

  • Hosting in France on LWS servers that are ISO 27001 certified, and a stated position that data stays in the EU.
  • The cheapest per-mailbox price here on a long commitment.
  • Any IMAP and SMTP mailbox, over OAuth2 with PKCE. No email content stored.
  • Billed per mailbox, so each extra mailbox adds its full price before the volume discount starts.
  • The free tier is 5 MCP calls a day, which one triage run will use up.
  • Its own ChatGPT guide adds it as a custom connector in Developer mode, and a Microsoft sign-in is not mentioned.

Best for. One mailbox, EU hosting, and a willingness to commit for a year or two.

Number 5: Mailopoly

Not only an MCP server: an AI email app with a unified inbox across Gmail, Outlook, iCloud, Yahoo and IMAP, whose MCP server is included on every plan. It is in the ChatGPT app directory, and its own site says it is in Claude's directory too.

Price. No free plan; a 7-day trial on email plans, no card. Single is USD 6.99 a month or USD 4.89 a month billed annually for 1 account, Duo USD 8.99 for 2, Unlimited USD 11.99 for 5. Prices are set by region.

  • Gmail, Outlook, iCloud, Yahoo and IMAP, plus Slack, Teams, WhatsApp and other channels on its Pro and Business plans.
  • Calendar events and tasks from the same connection.
  • In the ChatGPT app directory as Mailopoly Inbox, over OAuth 2.1.
  • Your mail is imported and stored in your Mailopoly account, and its privacy policy says email content may be sent to third-party AI providers.
  • Data is stored mainly in Australia, with some US services, and it offers no EU-only storage.
  • Sending is marked confirm-first for the AI app to honour; a hold on its own server is not described.

Best for. People who want a new email app with AI built in, and are happy for it to keep a copy of their mail.

Number 6: Composio

Not really an email server: an agent tool platform with 1,500+ toolkits and a managed MCP gateway, of which email is a handful. The right answer to a different question.

Price. Hobby is free: 100,000 tool calls and 50,000 triggers a month, 3 team members. Pro is $29 a month including $29 of usage credit, then $0.0003 a tool call. These prices apply to signups from 15 August 2026.

  • One gateway and one auth layer for Gmail, Outlook, Salesforce, Linear, Slack, GitHub and 1,500+ more.
  • By far the most generous free tier here, if tool calls are your unit.
  • Its own guide installs it from the ChatGPT plugin marketplace.
  • We found no generic IMAP toolkit: the catalogue URL for one returns "not found", so a mailbox at a small host or iCloud is not obviously covered.
  • Message storage and data residency are not stated on the pages we read.

Best for. Agents where email is one tool among many and you are already building on an SDK.

Number 7: Your mail provider's own MCP server

Some providers now run their own: Fastmail, Zoho Mail, Hostinger Mail, and Google for Gmail in preview. Each reaches only that provider's mailboxes, and each is free to try if you already use it.

Price. Zoho says its MCP is free on free and paid Zoho Mail plans; Hostinger includes it on every plan; Fastmail and Google state no separate price.

  • Fastmail (api.fastmail.com/mcp): OAuth with separate read, write and send access, across mail, contacts and calendars.
  • Zoho Mail: send, reply, labels, flags and folders over OAuth 2.0. Hostinger Mail: read, send and search with an API key, and a Hostinger Mail app in the ChatGPT directory.
  • Run by the company that already holds your mail, so no third party joins the chain.
  • One provider each. If you have a Fastmail and an iCloud mailbox, that is two setups, and we found no official server from Apple or Yahoo.
  • Google's Gmail MCP is a Developer Preview: it drafts but has no send tool, and needs your own Google Cloud project and OAuth client.
  • Fastmail's does not reach attachments, and in Claude it connects one Fastmail account only.

Best for. People whose mail lives with one of those providers and nowhere else.

Number 8: Wh1isper/mcp-email-server

A tidy, actively maintained local server: multi-account IMAP and SMTP, installed with uvx, configured through a local UI. Zero vendor.

Price. Free and BSD-3-Clause. You pay for the machine it runs on.

  • Multi-account, on Windows, macOS and Linux, with no hosted party in the path.
  • Since 1.11.0, per-account permission classes (draft, organize, delete, send, append), and an empty list makes an account read-only.
  • Your credentials and your mail never leave your machine.
  • Single user, single machine. A second device means setting it up again.
  • Long-lived mailbox credentials on the machine it runs on, and no human approval step before a send.

Best for. One person, one machine, managing their own credentials. Often still listed under its old path, ai-zerolab/mcp-email-server.

Number 9: codefuturist/email-mcp

The largest local feature surface here: scheduling, an IDLE watcher with rule-based triage, and calendar extraction from messages, over stdio or Streamable HTTP.

Price. Free and LGPL-3.0, on npm as @codefuturist/email-mcp.

  • Does more out of the box than any other self-hosted option, including rule-based triage on new mail.
  • Experimental OAuth2 for Gmail and Microsoft 365, not just app passwords.
  • Can run as a networked Streamable HTTP server as well as locally.
  • Attachment downloads capped at 5 MB, the tightest limit here.
  • The feature surface is the configuration burden. Expect to spend time on it.

Best for. Self-hosters who want everything and will read the README to get it.

Number 10: Built-in Claude and ChatGPT connectors

Worth being accurate about, because other comparison pages are not: Claude's Gmail connector sends, replies and forwards, and asks for your approval before each by default. It is not draft-only.

Price. Included with that vendor's app.

  • Nothing to install, configure or pay for separately.
  • Sends, replies and forwards, with an approval prompt in front of it.
  • It only works inside that one vendor's app. Your setup does not move to Cursor, to an SDK agent, or to the next model you try.
  • Coverage is the provider list that vendor chose, mainly Gmail and Microsoft 365, not every mailbox you own. Claude's Gmail connector reads attachment metadata only.

Best for. People with one AI app and one mainstream mailbox, who expect that to stay true.

Side by side

The five hosted services, and running it yourself. Composio and the provider-run servers answer different questions, so they stay in the list above.

CapabilityMCPEmailsMailbox MCPanymailmcpMailMCPMailopolySelf-hosted
Billed perPlan, with inboxes included. Business adds $3/mo per mailbox past 10.Mailbox, plus optional Team Access per account.Account (up to 5 mailboxes), or company domain on Team.Mailbox, with discounts from the 5th.Number of email accounts; Business per seat.Nothing. Your own machine.
Free tier1 inbox, 150 email actions a month, first 3 days uncounted.5 calls per mailbox in any 24 hours.1 mailbox, 15 calls a day, 150 a month.1 mailbox, 5 MCP calls a day.No free plan. 7-day trial.Unlimited.
Cheapest paid$9/mo or $86.40/yr for 3 inboxes.GBP 34.99 + VAT/yr per mailbox. Annual only.EUR 4.99/mo excl. VAT for up to 5 mailboxes.EUR 7.99/mailbox/mo, or EUR 1.99/mo on 24 months.USD 6.99/mo, or USD 4.89/mo yearly, for 1 account.No licence fee.
Outlook and Microsoft 365 by Microsoft sign-inNot on its providers page.Outlook listed as IMAP. Sign-in not mentioned.codefuturist: experimental OAuth2.
Any IMAP mailbox
Permission levels9 permission scopes per connection or key.Read only, draft and file, or send and delete.Read-only, read and organize, or full, per mailbox.Not statedScoped OAuth 2.1 sign-in.Wh1isper: per-account classes.
Send held on the server for approvalPer inbox, on every plan.No. Your AI app confirms.Not statedScheduled sends reviewable; nothing stated for others.No. Your AI app confirms; drafts for review.No.
Message content storedNo. Scheduled and held sends only, encrypted.No, per their security page.No. Opt-in watch keeps headers 7 days.No, per their privacy policy.Yes. Mail is imported into your account.On your own disk.
Where it runsStored in Stockholm; mail processed live in US East.London, UK. Cyber Essentials.European Union.France, on an ISO 27001 certified host.Mainly Australia, some US. No EU-only option.Wherever you put it.
Calendar and contactsLive contact lookup. No calendar.Calendar and address book.CalDAV and CardDAV.CalDAV on Pro, CardDAV.Calendar events and tasks.Varies by project.
In the ChatGPT app directoryNot yet. In review.Listed.Not found.Not found. Added in Developer mode.Listed, as Mailopoly Inbox.No. Added by hand.
Run the same code yourselfYes. AGPL-3.0, Docker Compose.Not statedNot statedNot statedNot statedThat is the whole proposition.

"Not stated" means the pages we read did not answer that question, not that the capability is missing. "Not found" means we looked for a ChatGPT app directory listing on 20 October 2026 and did not find one. Tool counts are absent on purpose: every server groups its tools differently, so a bigger number is not a better server.

Before you pick one

Including the answers that do not flatter us.

Which email MCP server is best?

MCPEmails, for most people: several mailboxes behind one MCP URL, a scoped OAuth connection instead of a shared mailbox credential, a hold on our server before an agent can send, and an AGPL-3.0 self-host path if you want off. Pick Mailbox MCP if you want calendar and contacts too, anymailmcp for the lowest price on up to five IMAP mailboxes, MailMCP for one mailbox on a long EU-hosted term, Mailopoly if you want a whole new email app, and Wh1isper/mcp-email-server if you want no hosted party at all.

How do I connect iCloud or Yahoo mail to ChatGPT or Claude?

The built-in connectors in ChatGPT and Claude are built around Gmail and Microsoft 365, and we found no official MCP server from Apple or Yahoo, so you need a third-party server. Create an app password at your provider, connect the mailbox to a hosted server such as MCPEmails, Mailbox MCP, anymailmcp, MailMCP or Mailopoly, then add that server to ChatGPT or Claude. Mailbox MCP and Mailopoly can be installed from the ChatGPT app directory; MCPEmails, for now, is added as a custom connector while our directory app is in review.

Which of these are in the ChatGPT app directory?

On 20 October 2026 we found Mailbox MCP and Mailopoly (as Mailopoly Inbox) listed, and Composio's own guide installs it from the plugin marketplace. MCPEmails has an app in review and is not listed yet. We did not find anymailmcp or MailMCP; MailMCP's guide adds it as a custom connector in Developer mode. A directory listing means OpenAI reviewed the app; it is not a security certification.

anymailmcp and MailMCP are cheaper. Why would I pay more?

For some mailbox counts they are, and we say so above. anymailmcp is EUR 4.99 a month for up to five mailboxes, and MailMCP is EUR 1.99 a month for one mailbox if you commit for 24 months. Ours is $9 a month for three, or $15 a month for up to ten. What the price buys here is Microsoft sign-in for Outlook and Microsoft 365, an approval hold on our server, and open source code you can run yourself. If you need none of those, buy theirs.

Does my provider have its own MCP server?

Fastmail, Zoho Mail and Hostinger Mail run their own, and Google has a Gmail MCP server in Developer Preview that drafts but cannot send. Each reaches only that provider's mailboxes. We found none from Apple (iCloud) or Yahoo. If all your mail is at one of those providers, its own server is worth trying first; if you have mailboxes in several places, a server like ours puts them behind one URL.

What about Nylas, AgentMail, or sending APIs like Resend and Mailgun?

They answer different questions. Nylas is a developer API: its MCP server authenticates with a Nylas API key, and you connect each mailbox to your Nylas application yourself. AgentMail creates new inboxes for agents rather than connecting the one you already have. Resend, Mailgun and similar services send transactional or marketing mail from your app and do not read a personal inbox.

Do I hand over my email password?

For Outlook, no: you sign in with Microsoft and we hold a revocable OAuth token. Gmail connects with a Google app password, and everywhere else you create a provider-issued app password, revocable at your provider without involving us. Either credential is encrypted at rest with AES-256-GCM, and your AI client never sees it: the MCP connection is its own OAuth 2.1 authorisation with its own scopes.

Can an agent send email without me seeing it first?

Only if you let it. Any inbox can require human approval before outbound mail is dispatched, and the hold is on our server, so an agent prompt-injected by a hostile message still cannot get mail out of your account, whatever the AI app is set to allow. Scopes are the second layer: a connection without the send scope cannot send.

Is my mail stored anywhere?

No. Messages are fetched live on each call and dropped once the response is sent, with no copy of any body, subject, attachment or contact. The exceptions are a message you schedule and a message held for your approval, which are kept encrypted until they go. Mailbox MCP, anymailmcp and MailMCP state the same no-storage position; Mailopoly imports and keeps your mail.

Sources

Each page below was read on the date shown. The oldest read is 20 October 2026.

Try it against whatever you are comparing it to

One inbox free, no card. If one of the alternatives above fits you better, use that instead.